Putin implements martial law in four Ukrainian cities which were included in Russia

Russian President Vladimir Putin on Wednesday (October 19, 2022) declared martial law in the four Ukrainian territories occupied by Russia during the ongoing Russia-Ukraine conflict. The four regions are Kherson, Zaporizhzhya, Donetsk and Luhansk. Putin said this during a meeting of the Security Council. The president said martial law was in force in these four regions before Russia joined.

“I have signed a decree imposing martial law in these four regions of the Russian Federation,” Putin said during a meeting of Russia’s National Security Council. The council meeting was being televised. After this, the office of the Russian President published this decree and said that they will be implemented from Thursday morning. During this, the Russian President said that Keane’s power refused to recognize the will of the people. The offer of negotiations has been turned down. Bullets are being fired and people are being killed.

Russian President Putin also accused Ukraine of using terrorist methods. The Russian president said that they are sending sabotage groups to our area. He said that Russia has foiled these activities after the attack on the Crimea Bridge. According to him, attempts were also made to target Russian nuclear power plants.

Also read: Ukraine’s big claim amid Russian shelling, five areas taken back in Kherson

With the proclamation of martial law, Russian President Vladimir Putin said that more emergency powers would be given to the heads of all regions of Russia. “In the current situation, I consider it necessary to give additional powers to the heads of all Russian regions,” he said. Under martial law, the government gets more power to strengthen the army, as well as impose curfews, restrictions on people’s movements, censorship and prohibit the entry of foreign nationals.

The Russian President further said that we are working on a complex and large-scale solution to protect Russia’s future and ensure security. The decree prohibits movement in and out of eight territories adjacent to Ukraine. These include Krasnodar, Belgorod, Bryansk, Voronezh, Kursk and Rostov and the southern regions of Crimea and Sevastopol.

Leave a Reply