ISL 2021-22 Final: Hyderabad FC wins maiden ISL title as they beat Kerala Blasters on penalties

ISL 2021-22 Final: Hyderabad FC won its first Hero ISL title by defeating Kerala Blasters in a penalty shootout in the final of the Indian Super League (ISL) 2021-22. This is the first title for Hyderabad after becoming part of the league for the first time in 2019-20.
The score was tied 1-1 in 90 minutes of play and the match went into a penalty shootout when the score remained the same in 30 minutes of extra time.

ISL 2021-22 Final: Laxmikant Kattimani saved three goals in the shootout

Marko Leskovich took the first penalty for Kerala, but could not score. Hoao Victor scored the first penalty for Hyderabad. Nishu Kumar also missed the second penalty for Kerala.
Hyderabad missed the second penalty and scored on the third. Laxmikant Kattimani had stopped Kerala’s three goals to give his team a 2-1 lead. Hollicharan Narzari scored the goal to make Hyderabad the champions.

Hyderabad finished second in the points table with 11 wins from 20 matches. Apart from this, they played five matches in draws and lost in four. They won seven of the last nine matches in the league stage.

In the semi-finals, Hyderabad defeated ATK Mohun Bagan by an aggregate score of 3-2 to reach the final. They scored all their three goals in the first leg of the semi-final itself.

ISL 2021-22 Final

With nine wins and four losses in 20 matches, Kerala reached the play-offs in fourth place. Kerala had also played seven matches in draws. Kerala had won four out of the last nine matches and lost three.
Kerala defeated Jamshedpur FC in the semi-finals with an aggregate score of 2-1. Kerala had scored one goal each in both the legs.

Hyderabad’s Bartholomew Ogbeche scored the highest 18 goals in 20 matches and was the winner of the Golden Boot. Kerala goalkeeper Prabhsukhan Gill made 42 saves in 20 matches and bagged the Golden Glove, getting the most of seven clean sheets. Hyderabad was the team that scored the most goals in the season. They scored 47 goals in 23 matches.

Leave a Reply