IPL 2022, RCB vs DC: Dinesh Karthik, Maxwell, Hazlewood shine as Banglore beats Delhi by 16-run

IPL 2022, RCB vs DC: Royal Challengers Bangalore beat Delhi Capitals by 16 runs in the second match of Super Saturday. With this win, RCB led by Faf du Plessis has reached the top-4 on the points table. Chasing the target of 190 runs, Delhi Capitals could only manage 173 runs in the allotted 20 overs for the loss of seven wickets. 27 runs were needed in the last over to win, but Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav together could score only 10 runs.

Warner’s fifty wasted

Chasing the target, Delhi started off smoothly. Prithvi Shaw was playing after scoring 16 runs, then the first wicket was taken. David Warner was dismissed after playing a brilliant half-century inning of 66 runs. Mitchell Marsh scored 14 runs in 24 balls. Powell kept walking without opening his account. Rishabh Pant (34 off 17 balls) and Shardul Thakur (17 off 9 balls) scored 19 runs in Hasranga’s fourth over. Pant hit a four and a six, while Shardul hit a six off the second ball. Hasaranga took 1 wicket giving 40 runs in his quota of four overs.

RCB’s didn’t start well

Royal Challengers Bangalore did not have a good start. Electing to bat first after losing the toss, RCB had lost both opener Anuj Rawat (0) and captain Faf du Plessis (8) within the first three overs, making the score 13 for two. Virat Kohli (12 runs off 14 balls) was run out. Maxwell made 55 runs off 34 balls with the help of seven fours and two sixes to rescue RCB from the initial blow. Shahbaz, who has been playing the role of an ally till now, hit his only six in the last over of Kuldeep’s innings.

3 wickets in Hazlewood’s account
Australian pacer Josh Hazlewood took three wickets in 4 overs while bowling brilliantly for RCB. Hazlewood dismissed Rovman Powell (0), Lalit Yadav (1) and Shardul Thakur (17). In the match, he spent runs at an economy of 7.25.

RCB’s 16th win over Delhi
This was the 27th match in IPL history between the two teams, in which Bangalore dominated and secured their 16th win. Delhi Capitals have won 10 matches and one match has been inconclusive.

Leave a Reply