IPL 2022 Final, GT vs RR: Hardik Pandya’s all-round performance guides Gujarat Titans to lift the trophy in its debut season, defeated Rajasthan Royals by 7 wickets

IPL 2022 Final, GT vs RR: Hardik Pandya-led Gujarat Titans (GT) have become the IPL 2022 champions. Gujarat defeated Rajasthan Royals (RR) by 7 wickets in the final played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday. Rajasthan had given a target of 131 runs, which Gujarat achieved by losing 3 wickets in 18.1 overs. Opener Shubman Gill (45) scored the most runs from GT. This was Gujarat’s first season in the IPL and it managed to raise the flag of success.

IPL 2022 Final, GT vs RR

Chasing a small target, the Gujarat team got two big blows on the total score of 23. Opener Wriddhiman Saha lost his wicket after scoring just 5 runs in 7 balls. He was bowled by the Prasidh Krishna in the second over. After this Matthew Wade returned to the pavilion in the fifth over. He scored 8 runs in 10 balls with 1 six. Wade is caught by Trent Boult in the hands of Riyan Parag. GT’s third wicket fell in the 14th over as Hardik Pandya, who scored 34 runs in 30 balls. He hit 3 fours and 1 six. He was caught by Yuzvendra Chahal at the hands of Yashasvi. Hardik shared a 63-run partnership with Gill for the third wicket.

IPL 2022 Final, GT vs RR: Gill and Miller return after winning the match

Gill and David Miller took the lead after Gujarat lost three wickets for a total of 86. Both faced the Rajasthan bowlers very well and went on to strengthen GT’s innings. Gill and Miller shared an unbroken 47-run partnership for the fourth wicket and returned with a win. Gill scored an unbeaten 45 off 43 balls with 3 fours and 1 six. At the same time, Miller played an innings of 32 runs in 19 balls with the help of 3 fours and 1 six.

IPL 2022 Final, GT vs RR: Poor batting by Rajasthan Royals

Electing to bat after winning the toss, Rajasthan team made a slow start. Yashasvi Jaiswal and Jos Buttler added 31 runs for the first wicket. This partnership broke after Yashasvi was dismissed in the fourth over. He was caught by Yash Dayal at the hands of Sai Kishore. Yashasvi scored 22 runs in 16 balls with 1 four and 2 sixes. After this Butler and Sanju Samson shared a 29-run partnership for the second wicket. Samson could not play a big innings and became the victim of Hardik Pandya in the ninth over. He also gave a catch to Kishor. Samson scored 14 runs in 11 balls. He hit 2 fours.

IPL 2022 Final, GT vs RR: Opener Jos Buttler missed half century

Devdutt Padikal (2 in 10 balls) was expected to give the team a big innings but he was caught by Rashid Khan in the 12th over at the hands of Mohammed Shami. Rajasthan got the fourth blow in the form of Butler, who scored 39 runs after facing 35 balls. He hit 5 fours in his innings. Buttler was caught by Hardik Pandya in the 13th over at the hands of wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha. After this Shimron Hetmyer (11 in 12 balls), Ravichandran Ashwin (6 in 9 balls), Trent Boult (11 in 7 balls), Obed McCoy (8 off 5 balls) and Rhea Parag (15 off 15 balls) did nothing much. Get it For Gujarat, Hardik took three, Kishor two while Mohammed Shami, Dayal and Rashid took one wicket each. One RR player is run out.

Leave a Reply