IND vs WI 1st T20I: India beat West Indies by 68 runs, takes 1-0 lead in the five-match series

IND vs WI 1st T20I: The Indian team defeated West Indies by a huge margin of 68 runs in the first T20 International on Friday on the basis of all-round performance. In the match played at the Brian Lara Stadium in Turuba, India batted first and scored 190 runs in the stipulated 20 overs for the loss of 6 wickets. In reply, West Indies team could score 122 runs in 20 overs for the loss of 8 wickets. The Indian team led by Rohit Sharma has taken a 1-0 lead in the five-match T20I series. The second match of the series will be played on Monday next week in Bessetre.

Also read: IND vs WI 1st T20I: Team India would like to start the series with a win, know India’s probable playing-11

Chasing a huge margin of 191 runs, West Indies got off to a quick start, but then their innings quickly faltered. Arshdeep Singh got Kyle Meyers (15) caught by Bhuvneshwar Kumar. After this Jadeja did not even allow Jason Holder to open the account and made a clean bowl. Shamrah Brooks (20) was bowled by Bhuvneshwar Kumar in the last over of the powerplay. Captain Nicholas Pooran (18) also could not do wonders and was caught by Pant off Ashwin’s ball.

IND vs WI 1st T20I: India beat West Indies by 68 runs

After losing the top four wickets, West Indies’ innings was in a tu chal main aaya situation. Wickets kept falling at regular intervals. Rovman Powell (14) was bowled by Bishnoi on the first ball of the over. Shimron Hetmyer (14) was caught by Ashwin at the hands of Yadav. Aqeel Hussain (11) was clean bowled by Arshdeep Singh while Ravi Bishnoi got Odin Smith stumped. Arshdeep Singh, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravi Bishnoi got two wickets each for India. One success each came in the account of Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ravindra Jadeja.

The Indian team, who accepted the invitation to bat first, got off to a strong start with a partnership of 44 runs by Rohit Sharma (64) and Suryakumar Yadav (24). Akil Hussain gave India the first blow by getting Yadav caught by the holders. Shreyas Iyer could not open the account and returned to the dugout after being caught by Hossain off McCoy. Rishabh Pant (14) was caught by Keemo Paul at the hands of Akeel Hussain, giving India the fourth blow.

Rohit Sharma (64) remained at one end and completed his half-century. During this, he left New Zealand’s Martin Guptill behind in the case of scoring the most runs in T20 International cricket. Hardik Pandya (1) was caught by Debutant Joseph at the hands of McCoy. Holder gave India the fifth blow by getting Rohit Sharma caught by Hetmyer. Ravindra Jadeja (16) was caught by Joseph at the hands of Paul.

After this, Dinesh Karthik scored an unbeaten 41 runs in 19 balls with the help of four fours and two sixes. Ravichandran Ashwin remained unbeaten on 13 runs off 10 balls with the help of a six. Alzarri Joseph took two wickets for West Indies. Obed McCoy, Jason Holder, Akil Hossain and Keemo Paul got one wicket each.

Leave a Reply