BJP-JDU Alliance: Shrinking NDA, why are its allies leaving BJP?

BJP-JDU Alliance: Now the Janata Dal (United) i.e. JDU also got separated from the NDA alliance. The decision on this was taken in a meeting of party MPs and MLAs chaired by Nitish Kumar. After the meeting, Nitish reached Raj Bhavan. Here he submitted his resignation to the Governor. It is being said that JDU will again form the government with RJD and Grand Alliance.

In the last few years, several NDA parties have parted ways one by one. In such a situation, there is a discussion whether now only BJP will remain in NDA? Why are these regional and smaller parties angry with the BJP?

NDA was a big alliance of 24 parties before 2014
Before the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, there were a total of 24 small and big parties in the Bharatiya Janata Party-led NDA i.e. National Democratic Alliance. But as soon as the Bharatiya Janata Party declared the then Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi as the prime ministerial candidate, the first crack in the NDA broke out. First of all, Nitish Kumar, the then Chief Minister of Bihar, left the NDA and parted ways. After this BJP contested the election with 23 parties of the alliance and won a record victory. Narendra Modi became the Chief Minister and it was from here that the BJP began to rise anew, while the NDA began to shrink.

Kuldeep Bishnoi left first
The process of leaving the alliance parties from the NDA started only after the victory in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. First of all, Haryana Janhit Congress left the NDA. Party leader Kuldeep Bishnoi broke away from the NDA a few months after the Lok Sabha elections and just before the Haryana Assembly elections.

Bishnoi had accused the BJP of destroying regional parties. In the same year, Tamil Nadu’s Marumlarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK) also left the NDA. This party had accused the BJP of working against Tamils. MDMK became the second party which left the NDA.

In 2016 these parties also left
After the MDMK in 2016 before the Tamil Nadu assembly elections, Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam i.e. DMDK also announced its separation from the NDA. Similarly, Tamil Nadu’s S Ramadoss’s party PMK also broke ties with the NDA. Now in Tamil Nadu only AIADMK is involved in NDA with BJP.

Even after 2019, the NDA alliance parties continue to quit. First Shiv Sena then Shiromani Akali Dal, Rashtriya Loktantrik Party also left the NDA.

Now only these parties are left in NDA
Apart from BJP, Shiv Sena rebel faction in NDA, AIADMK, Lok Janshakti Party, Apna Dal (Sonelal), NPP, NDPP, SKM, MNF, NPF, AJSU, Republican Party of India (Athawale), AGP, PMK, Tamil Manila Congress, UPPL, AJASU and AINRC are included. Most of these are parties from the North East.

Leave a Reply