Australia Open 2023: Sania Mirza and Rohan Bopanna Advance to the Mixed Doubles Final

On Wednesday, Sania Mirza and Rohan Bopanna advanced to the mixed doubles final of the Australian Open by defeating the third-seeded team of Desirae Krawczyk and Neal Skupski with a score of 7-6(5), 6-7(5), 10-6.

On Tuesday, the Indian pair of Sania Mirza and Rohan Bopanna secured their spot in the semifinals by receiving a walkover from the Latvian-Spanish team of Jelena Ostapenko and David Vega Hernandez in the quarterfinals.

On Monday, the Indian duo of Sania Mirza and Rohan Bopanna, who were semifinalists in the Rio Olympics, advanced to the quarterfinals by defeating the Japanese-Uruguayan team of Makoto Ninomiya and Ariel Behar with a score of 6-4, 7-6(11-9) in their second-round match. This set up a quarterfinal match with Jelena Ostapenko and David Vega Hernandez. The Indian pair had also defeated the Australian team of Jaimee Fourlis and Luke Saville in the first round.

Rohan Bopanna and his partner Mathew Ebden, who were seeded 10th, were eliminated in the first round of the men’s doubles event. Similarly, Sania Mirza and her Kazakh partner Anna Danilina were defeated in the second round of the women’s doubles.

Ramkumar Ramanathan and his Mexican partner Miguel Angel Reyes-Varela, as well as Yuki Bhambri and Saketh Myneni, were also eliminated in the first round of their respective events.

Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan and N Sriram Balaji progressed to the second round before being eliminated. There was no Indian representation in the men’s singles competition.

Also read: All is not well between Sania Mirza and Shoaib Malik? separation rumors rife on social media

Sania Mirza, who is a six-time Grand Slam champion, will be participating in her last major tournament. She announced her retirement from professional tennis earlier this month, and her final tournament will be the Dubai Tennis Championships, a WTA 1000 event, which begins on February 19.

Sania Mirza has won six major titles in doubles, three in women’s doubles and three in mixed doubles. Her first major title came in 2009, when she partnered with Mahesh Bhupathi to win the Australian Open mixed doubles championship.